Since its inception in 1986, The Chief Executive of the Year has honored a who’s who of extraordinary American business leaders. To qualify for nomination, a CEO must lead a company of significant size and complexity, substantially outperform their sector peers over an extended period of time and have been in their position for a minimum of 5 years. There is no charge for nominations or participation in any way.



The names of active finalists, together with background data on each, are submitted to the selection committee made up of present and sometimes former CEOs. Early in the calendar year the selection committee meets in person to discuss the criteria to be applied and makes its ultimate selection.

Chief Executive has no vote in the outcome and accepts the decision of the judges as final.

2022 Selection Committee

Judging and selection of a winner is done by a committee of distinguished peer CEOs in a meeting held in March at Nasdaq. The 2022 committee consists of:

Adam Aron | President and CEO, AMC Entertainment

Ken Frazier | Executive Chairman, Merck & Co. 

Dan Glaser | President and CEO, Marsh & McLennan

Fred Hassan | Former Chairman, Bausch & Lomb; Partner, Warburg Pincus

Marillyn A. Hewson | Former Chair & Chief Executive, Lockheed Martin

Tamara Lundgren | President and CEO, Schnitzer Steel Industries

Brian Moynihan | Chairman & CEO, Bank of America

Robert Nardelli | Former CEO, Home Depot and Chrysler; CEO, XLR-8

Thomas J. Quinlan III | Chairman, President and CEO, LSC Communications

Jeffrey Sonnenfeld | President and CEO, The Chief Executive Leadership Institute, Yale School of Management

Carmine Di Sibio | Global Chairman and CEO, EY

Ted Bililies, Ph.D. | Managing Director and Chief Talent Officer, AlixPartners, exclusive advisor to the Selection Committee