Norman E. Alexander, 79, was named chairman of Chock Full O’Nuts Corp. in New York. The chairman and CEO of Sequa Corp. succeeds former Chairman and CEO Joseph Breslin, who resigned. Marvin I. Haas, 52, continues as CEO.

James Benson, 47, was named president of Equitable Cos. unit, Equitable Life Assurance Co. of the U.S. He was a senior vice president at Equitable.

Robert C. Buhrmaster, 46, president and chief operating officer of Jostens Inc. in Minneapolis, MN, was named to the additional post of chief executive of the maker of class rings, yearbooks, awards, and education products. He relinquishes the post of COO and succeeds H. William Lurton, 64, who retired.

Royce S. Caldwell, 55, was named president and chief executive of Southwestern Bell Telephone Co., the telephone unit of Southwestern Bell Corp. in San Antonio, TX. The unit’s former customer services president replaces Robert G. Pope, 58, who retired. Edward Mueller, 46, a senior vice president, succeeds Caldwell as president.

Richard E. Clemens, 44, was named president and chief executive of mining, construction, and logging equipment maker Terex Corp.’s Clark Material Handling Co. in Westport, CT. The former president of Harsco Corp.’s BMY division succeeds Terex President Ronald M. DeFeo, 41, who held the positions on a temporary basis.

Robert J. DiNicola, 46, was named chief executive of The Zale Corp., a Dallas-based jewelry retailer. The former CEO of the Bon Marche division of Federated Department Stores succeeds Dean G. Groussman, 55, who resigned after less than a year under pressure from the board last August.

Masao Ebina, 52, was named chairman and chief executive of Nikko Securities Co. International, the U.S. unit of Tokyo-based Nikko Securities Co. The former general manager of the parent’s Kyoto and Sendai branches succeeds Ryosuke Suzuki, 53, who became a senior adviser of Tokyo Securities Co.

Walter Fremuth, 62, was named chairman of Creditanstalt, one of Austria‘s leading financial institutions. The former chairman and chief executive of Osterreichische Elek-trizitatswirtschafts AG (Austria‘s major electric utility), Fremuth succeeds Erich Gottlicher, who was appointed deputy governor of Osterreichische Nationalbank.

Charles W Grigg, 54, was named chairman and chief executive of SPS Technologies in New Town, PA. Grigg was president and chief operating officer of North Andover, MA-based Watts Industries. He replaces John R. Selby, 64.

Stephen M. Humphrey, 49, was named president and chief executive of Charlotte, NC-based National Gypsum Co., a maker of wallboard. The former president-on-highway products, automotive operations, at Rockwell International Corp. succeeds Peter C. Browning, 52, who resigned last fall to take a position with Sun Co.

Jay Margolis, 5, was named president and vice chairman of Tommy Hilfiger Corp. in New York. He was chairman of Liz Claiborne and chairman and chief executive of Pepe Group PLC’s U.S. unit. Margolis was succeeded at Pepe by Edwin Lewis, 43, who resigned as CEO of Hilfiger. Joel Horowitz, 43, was named CEO of Hilfiger; he was formerly the president and chief operating officer.

Michael R. McGrath, 39, was named president and chief executive of H.J. Heinz Co.’s Weight Watchers Food Co. unit in Pittsburgh. The former vice president of marketing at All American Gourmet Co., a unit of Philip Morris Cos.’ Kraft/General Foods, succeeds Brian J. Ruder, 39, who was named corporate vice president.

James R. Mellor, 63, was named chairman of General Dynamics Corp. in Falls Church, VA. Also the company’s president and chief executive, he succeeds William A. Anders, 60, who resigned.

Edward J. Robinson, 53, was named president and chief operating officer of New York‘s Avon Products. James E. Preston relinquished the title of president but continues as chairman and chief executive. Robinson was previously vice chairman and chief financial administrative officer at Avon.

Jean-Pierre Rosso, 53, was named president and chief executive of Tenneco’s construction and farm equipment division, JI Case in Houston. The former president of Honeywell’s home and building control business succeeds Edward J. Campbell, 66, who retired as president, and Dana Mead, 58, who remains chairman of Case and president and CEO of the parent.

S. Jay Stewart, 55, was named chairman and chief executive of Chicago-based Morton International Inc., a maker of specialty chemicals, car airbags, and salt. The president and former chief operating officer succeeds Charles S. Locke, 65, who retired.

Robert L. Swift, 65, was named president of high-technology concern

Rockwell International’s Rockwell Graphic Systems business in Westmont, IL. The former senior vice president of Rockwell Automation’s Allen-Bradley Applied Systems Group succeeds Frank J. McKay, 48, who resigned to pursue business interests in Europe.

  • Get the CEO Briefing

    Sign up today to get weekly access to the latest issues affecting CEOs in every industry
  • upcoming events